Friday Five: Fast and Furious Cuisine

Deb writes:

I know RevGals is not a cooking blog. But, I also know that we clergy balance multiple tasks, roles and responsibilities. And many of us want to keep eating healthy and serving with stronger, healthier bodies. At the same time, unless you are living with a personal sous chef, you’re throwing dinner together in between afternoon office hours and evening meetings, sometimes with a little homework and soccer practice thrown in the mix. So, for this week’s Friday Five, tell us:

1) What’s your tried-and-true recipe for picky eaters?

Because I don’t cook for other people most of the time, I don’t have an answer to this. I know that when I was a kid, being a picky eater wasn’t really an option. I do have a niece whose tastes change on a weekly basis, so if I’m cooking for her, I’ll try to find alternative options, because, well, I’m an auntie. The nephew eats anything. I do have a recipe for a lasagna with prosciutto that is a pretty universal crowd pleaser.

2) Breakfast for dinner: totally cheating or a lifesaver? Discuss.

Totally AWESOME. What’s to discuss?

3) Go-to casserole for potlucks, new parents or your family’s favorite?

I did not come from casserole people, so the 9 X 13 culture is a bit foreign. Usually when I have to bring food for something, I do a pot of chili or chicken & corn chowder, and I do a fair bit of baking so I like to bring dessert. My current favorite recipe is chocolate chip cookie bars with salted caramel, all from scratch. Not as hard as you’d think, and crazy tasty.

4) Favorite take-out place, preferably with a drive-through? (Let’s be real!)

I’m an In-n-Out Burger girl.

5) ‘Fess up! What’s your “bad-for-me-but-super-easy” dinner?

I throw together some chicken breasts, a can of cream of chicken soup, a can of Rotelle and cover it with cheese and bake for about 30 mins, then serve over rice. Comforty and delicious.

BONUS: RANDOM!! REVGALS version of “CHOPPED” episode, starring you, the tired, harried, cook and pastor who has to feed everyone and get back to church for a meeting in 45 minutes… What would you make with:
a can of garbanzo beans
chicken breasts
radicchio
sweet bell peppers and
some “Testa-mints”?

I would make southwest spicy chicken with peppers in radicchio wraps, I’d fry up the garbanzo beans and roll them in cayenne, paprika and a few other spicy, smoky things, and make a peppermint ice cream for dessert.