Friday Five: Life is a Verb

1. What awakens you to the present moment?

I am not someone who finds it easy to be in the present moment, but I’ve found that yoga and pilates are a good discipline for me in that regard. Other things that awaken me to the present moment are, in no particular order: flowers, the ocean, my babies, symphonic music, photography.

2. What are 5 things you see out your window right now?

It’s night time now, so I see nothing out the window, but if the sun were out I’d see lots and lots of flowers and plants, other people’s houses & windows, the sky, wires, and possibly some fog.

3. Which verbs describe your experience of God?

Heal, challenge, hold, love, dance, create, rescue, abide, be, listen, hope, scream, embrace

4. From the book on p. 197:
Who were you when you were 13? Where did that kid go?

At 13 I was a nerdy, musical, bookish kid who was not an outcast but not part of the “in” group either. Clearly nothing much has changed.

5. From the book on p. 88:
If your work were the answer to a question, what would the question be?

What does it mean to live your calling outside of a traditional church setting?

Bonus idea for you here or on your own–from the book on p. 149:
“Go outside. Walk slowly forward. Open your hand and let something fall into it from the sky. It might be an idea, it might be an object. Name it. Set it aside. Walk forward. Open your hand and let something fall into it from the sky. Name it. Set it aside. Repeat. . . .”

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: Life is a Verb

  1. Wonderful verbs for God. I know my life was changed when I heard that God is a verb rather than a noun/a new way for this former English major to see.

Leave a comment