Friday Five: For the Love of Trader Joe’s

Sophia writes:
Gals and pals on the West and East coasts, and a few spots in between, may know of Trader Joe’s–a quirky, well-stocked, well priced semi-gourmet store that attains near cult status among some. I discovered it through my Aunt Judy, who always brought a couple of their desserts to holiday parties….The best was a chocolate ganache torte that had my four year olds begging for it (and among the only four year olds on the planet to know what ganache is, presumably).
My family has happily Trader Joe’d in southernmost California, up to the Northwest, and back down to southern Cal. And now we’re really excited because today a brand new Trader Joe is opening up across the street from our apartment. Wahoo! There are sure to be lots of tasty free samples on opening day and from now on we can just walk across the street to get a lot of our shopping done. I have a new spiritual directee coming tomorrow and she has already mentioned that she’ll be stopping in on the way here, leaving me to be jealous cause I’ll be spending that noon hour like, praying and preparing and study-vacuuming and everything, and won’t be able to stop in till the afternoon.
So in honor of the new Trader Joe’s, this week’s Friday Five is all about food shopping.
1. Grocery shopping–love it or hate it?

LOVE it. I love trying new recipes or even planning on the fly in the store. Love it.

2. Who is the primary food shopper in your household?

As it turns out, I am the primary food eater, therefore the primary food shopper.

3. Do you have a beloved store like TJ’s which is unique to your location or family?

Fortunately, I don’t have to live w/o TJ’s. I’m a TJ girl all the way!

4. How about a farmer’s market, or CSA share, as we move into summer? Or do you grow your own fruits/veggies/herbs?

We have lots of farmers markets around here. My favorite one is up in Marin County on Sunday mornings. I’ve considered a CSA but I’m a bit daunted by the quantity. See #2. I don’t grow anything. I can barely keep a cactus alive. And I’m from Arizona.

5. What’s the favorite thing you buy at the grocery store?
Coffee and the various acoutrements associated with coffee. Because I MUST have it. I also love the pre-made salads at TJ’s for my lunches. My favorite one is the B-B-Q Chicken Salad. I am also a fan of the Kettle New York Cheddar and Herb chips. Around the holidays, Candy Cane Jo-Jo’s from TJ’s become my drug of choice. There are no words for this delicious oreo-like cookie with candy canes crushed up in the middle. The only thing better are the ones that are COVERED IN DARK CHOCOLATE.
For those of us who have the Trader Joe’s, you must check this out!
5 thoughts on “Friday Five: For the Love of Trader Joe’s

Leave a Reply

