How Are We Doing?

I’ve had a couple of friends ask me how I’m doing. I’ve also had a couple of friends feel they have the right to tell me how I should be feeling (you can imagine how well that went). A few more tell me how wrong I am about my view of the election. I’ve had a couple of people block me and I’ve blocked a couple myself. The results of this election are the end result of a dark eighteen months for this country. Conservatives have let the worst of their ranks rise up and control the conversation. They’ve succumbed to real and imagined threats against their treasured way of life. Liberals have lost the ability to communicate with the people on the streets and have spent a lot of time and energy lecturing instead of listening. Had we been able to get out into the red states and hear how people felt, the results would have been different.

We’ve had a lot of protests against the results of the election. Some peaceful, some not. Conservatives are crying “sore loser” and claiming that they didn’t protest when Obama was elected. What short memories they have. Tea party, anyone? Liberals are pointing fingers and posting memes about how they think less of people who voted for the Cheeto in Chief*. I am tempted to agree with that, but I don’t think it will forward the dialogue. We need to listen to why they thought things were so bad that they voted for someone with such blatant disregard for our civil liberties.

On a personal level, I am ready to get to work. The last 8 years have allowed those of us on the left to become a bit lazy because the government was on our side. Now we need to wake up and let our grief fuel action. Not against people, but against harmful ideologies of racism, sexism, xenophobia, homophobia, isolationism, nationalism, and islamophobia. But we can’t do it by posting smug things on Facebook. We have to get out from behind the computer and volunteer. We have to contribute to causes and politicians that support the mission to help make America stronger by making America kinder. I am personally going to volunteer with the International Rescue Committee because I believe refugees are in danger under this administration and I want to stand with them.

Making peace and beings silent are not the same thing. What is coming out of the mouth hole of the Microwaved Circus Peanut* is fascism, pure and simple. He is trying to quash dissent, isolate the US from the rest of the world and rule without accountability. He’s already violating many ethical standards by having his children join him at meetings with world leaders, setting up political alliances that will benefit his businesses and ditching the press so there is no visibility to his action. He’s also only appointed white nationalists, anti-immigrant, anti-gay people to his top leadership positions. I will not be quiet and wait and see what kind of President this is. I already know. He’s made it perfectly clear. I will resist this with every fiber of my being.

The trick is going to be making peace and also speaking up. That’s not going to be easy, but that’s my goal. I’m going to fight against this Tiny-Handed Man Toddler* and try to love the people who support him. Yeah, I know. But it’s a good spiritual practice for me. This is what it means to be the church. We have told the world we believe we can live in a different way. Let’s try it and see what happens.

*before you call me out on calling names, I have a few things to say: 1) I respect the office, if not the person. And he’s not in office yet. 2) I’m still processing. Give me a minute. 3) I won’t give him any power by using his name.
Leave a Reply

