FROZEN Friday Five

Deb writes:

When it gets to the end of February, even people who LOVE winter are ready for a new season. Like this mom, sick of snow days and hearing the soundtrack of a specific movie, you might be going a little stir-crazy. With the lyrics of that  movie to inspire, tell us:

1. For The First Time in Forever: Tell us about a magical first snow day – for a child, a transplanted southerner, or maybe you have a great story from the first snowfall in your area this season

My first snow day wasn’t so much magical as me refusing to go out into it because it was so damned cold. I was a toddler who had spent my short life in 70 degree winters in Phoenix, AS GOD INTENDED. My first trip to see our family in Oklahoma for Christmas introduced me to snow. They opened the door and I turned and ran. The snow was unexpected and we hadn’t brought any gear so my mother put all my socks on me and then shod my feet in bread bags and secured them with rubber bands. Necessity, mother of invention, etc.

2. In Summer: Tell us what you look forward to when it’s warmer again.

It’s in the 70s. I’m good. When it’s summer it’s 115. I like this.

3. Reindeers are Better than people: We are in the business of loving people. But sometimes… Well, it’s a bit of a stretch to love. Do you have a tip, a mantra, or a perspective that helps?

I pass them along to someone who’s better at loving than I.

4. Fixer Upper: Since we are in the season of Lent, what are you doing in the area of self-improvement?

I’ve started a daily meditation practice at work, actually, and it’s making me less stressed and more energized and creative.

5. Let. It. Go. What would Elsa do? Are you de-cluttering? Moving on? Accepting a hard reality? Finding freedom?

I’ve been de-cluttering, donating, re-decorating and digging in. It’s a good season.

Bonus: Frozen, thawing out or thawed, share a picture from your winter this year!

I don’t think you want that. But here’s our 10 day forecast: IMG_3860

4 thoughts on “FROZEN Friday Five

Leave a Reply

