Friday Five: Recovery Edition

deb writes:

That was the air rushing out of our collective pool of energy. Whether you led one small service or 5 huge ones, let’s talk about recovery mode. In less than 48 hours, there’s another Sunday service, or a weekday ministry starting up again. So, tell us:

1. What’s your “chill out” foot gear? Slippers or socks? Or Birkenstocks? (Poem not intentional)

I totally don’t believe the poem was unintentional. But I love it, so that’s good. I prefer barefootedness regardless of temperature, but I will don the cozy socks if I’m feeling chilly.

2. A holiday treat or beverage that just makes you say “AAAAAAHHHHHHH!!”

Granny’s Egg Nog. I know, egg nog is a polarizing beverage. First, let me say that the sludge they sell in cartons at the grocery store is a hate crime. Nasty. My Grandmother’s recipe is almost like a vanilla shake. It’s made with eggs, sugar, milk and a package of vanilla pudding mix (NOT instant – you can imagine the result). Then you pour it in a glass and top it off with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Heaven. I also love me a peppermint mocha.

3. What sight or sound moved you during the season? (This can be good or bad.)

Unfortunately, this year it was the report on the CIA torture techniques and the protests against police brutality. It reminded me that the Advent and Christmas stories are not only filled with warm fuzzies, but has a powerful story to tell about the slaughter of the innocents, injustice and abuse of power.

4. With whom did you enjoy sharing time with over the Christmas season?

Biological family as always. I love that I don’t have to travel during this season. Church family, which is new to me but quickly becoming important. Chosen family, which is also new, but really great. It’s been a fun holiday season.

5. Was there someone missing from your festivities? How are you doing with that?

While this year brought the end of some friendships, I feel like I’m in a good place with regard to the friends I do have. Not all friendships or relationships are intended to last for long periods of time and it makes me appreciate the ones that do all the more. I’m fortunate to not have lost anyone close to me through death this year. I know way too many people who have, however, and my heart was heavy for them this season.

Leave a Reply

