Friday Five: Surprising Finds!

janintx writes:

Only afterwards, do we realize that we have “found” something that we like–like a new way to look at something; a new (to me) author; a new song or hymn; a new food. Today share with us something that you like that seemed surprisingly “new” to you sometime in the near past. It could even be a RE-discovery.

Here is a list, but you can choose your own five items you would like to share! Please join us today in playing FF.

1. author

I’m late to the Jonathan Tropper bandwagon so in anticipation of the film (which actually released today), I’m reading This Is Where I Leave You. I’m really enjoying it.

2. shampoo

Alas, I have been a loyal Aveda customer for nearly 25 years. I am a slave to the Color Conserve collection and cannot be dissuaded, despite the best efforts of many a salon professional.

3. food

Oddly, it’s cotton candy. Last weekend I went to dinner at a swanky restaurant downtown and as my friend and I were pondering dessert, we were offered home-made cotton candy. A bit incredulous, we were told that it’s really delicious and a regular part of the meal service. Our server brought us a beautiful pink pouf of cotton candy and it was so whimsical and fun. We ate the whole thing. He told us that people have very polarized reactions to the cotton candy – they either love it or get angry and ask that it be taken away. Wierd.

4. activity

One of the new things that’s going around as a fun activity is painting studio classes. You pay around $30 for 2 hours and all the materials and instruction. You can also bring wine. The teacher guides the class through a painting class and you copy either a painting the instructor has done or a classic masterpiece. I went to a class and did a version of Starry Night. I found it really relaxing and engrossing. Something I’d definitely like to do again.

5. music

I’ve gone back and watched Pitch Perfect a few times. It’s even better than it was when I first watched it. I just finally got the soundtrack and have been rocking it non-stop.

Leave a Reply

