Friday Five: What’s In A Name?

3dogmom writes:

Robert McCandless Family BibleLately I’ve been a bit obsessed with tracking some genealogical mysteries in my family. I’m reaching back through generations into the past, but I’m also moving from the past toward the present in an effort to locate cousins descended from the same ancestor. Naming patterns prove to be useful clues in these endeavors, and in turn, lead me to today’s Friday Five theme.

Share with us:

1. Is there a story behind your name?

“Tiffany” means God incarnate, which is probably why I’m so bossy. But honestly, people really should do what I say. My parents had a rough time becoming parents and so once they finally had me, they liked this idea of God being present to them. Also, it was the early 70s. I had 3 other Tiffanys in my kindergarten class. My middle name is “Dawn” because of the idea of a new beginning.

Here’s a fun story: When I was about 15 years old we were back in Oklahoma for something or other and my mom learned that her college roommate was also in town. They hadn’t seen each other since my mom left college to get married in 1963. When they met up and were talking about their families they discovered that my mom’s roommate, Charlene, has a daughter about a year older than me and her name is TIFFANY DAWN. Weird, huh?

2. If you have children, how did you choose his/her/their name(s)? If you don’t have children, how about a pet?

Oh, honey, no. I don’t have children. No one wants that. I do have a cactus named Travis, however. And even him I can barely keep alive.

3. I named the stand mixer in my kitchen Ethel, and a friend of mine names her plants. Do you ever name household items, and what inspires the names behind them?

I do not, in fact, name household things. I’ve never thought of it. As I mentioned I do have a cactus with a name. I did name my car. Her name is Fiona Anastasia Elantra. It just seemed to fit her personality.

4. Do you daydream about what you might name a boat, a novel, a business, or something else that begs for a title?

I have always wanted to write a book called Christians Are Socially Handicapped. I think it would be a best seller.

5. If you were to write under a pseudonym, what might that be, and is there a story behind that name?

Since my last name sounds like I’m on fire, I’ve not felt the need to create a pseudonym. I might just change the pronunciation to make me sound more en fuego.

One thought on “Friday Five: What’s In A Name?

  1. So glad to know what “Tiffany” means. It makes perfect sense for your parents to have given you the names they chose. And yeah, how weird/cool that your mom’s friend’s daughter has the same name! Write that book, I think it WOULD be a bestseller! At the very least it would create a buzz. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

