Friday Five: Where Were You When….

3dogmom writes:

I’m fortunate to be on the emailing list of a friend and business coach. Her enthusiasm for helping people strive toward achieving dreams and living authentically inspires me regularly, and even if I don’t always take advantage of the opportunities she shares, the resources she tells us about are always close at hand.

This week she told us about an app called “timehop.” It looks back at where we’ve been as a touchstone to seeing where we are now. It’s also a helpful reminder of what other people were experiencing in their lives, and can serve to encourage us to reach out and touch.

For today’s Friday Five, share with us where you were and what you were up to 1, 3, 5, 10, and 20 years ago! What were your dreams—did you follow them? Who was journeying with you? Feel free to keep it light (I was on vacation at the beach with my bestie!) or reflect more deeply (a call was brewing…). Have any pictures from those moments to share? We’d love to see them!

As always, I encourage you to visit your sister RevGals to learn more about each other and show some love.

1. 2013

A year ago I was getting settled after a couple of months of rather aggressive travel both for work and personal. I had to go to Ohio twice TWICE for work in the span of one month. I’m no great fan of the middle of the country and especially not in winter. I almost went to HR to see if I was on some sort of corrective action. I also went to Egypt & Paris which was awesome. There was some heartbreak around a year ago as well, but I’m over that now and really in a good place.

2. 2011

Not going to lie – I totally downloaded the timehop app just so I could remember what was going on. According to that handy gadget, I was hiking with my family in Prescott. I have some great pictures of all of us having a picnic by the lake. The babies look so little!

3. 2009

In 2009 I was kind of starting to figure out what I wanted to be when I grow up. Still in process there, but at least I got started. I do know I spent my bday weekend that year in LA and met some new friends and reconnected with some old.

4. 2004

The highlight of 2004 was that I became an aunt for the first time! The timehop doesn’t go back 10 years because, well, social media barely goes back 10 years. It’s kind of amazing how much things have accelerated.

5. 1994

My recollection of 20 years ago was moving back to AZ from PA, being somewhat lost, becoming a workaholic and being in a toxic relationship. Good times. The good thing is, I can look back at that and know that because of my development and work I’ve done, the likelihood of me being in that situation again is very slim. Thanks be to God.

Leave a Reply

