Friday Five: All Around the Mulberry Bush

3dogmom writes:

It’s been a week of ups and downs at our house. On Tuesday I received word of the birth of my goddaughter’s second daughter, a blessing to that family, and the hope of the first daughter happily fulfilled. That evening I learned that my sister-in-law, a breast cancer survivor, is facing a recurrence of cancer in her lymph nodes, and probably her lungs. Joy and concern pressing in on my heart has made for a week of lots of deep breaths and deep-in-the-marrow prayer, smiles and tears.

At times like this I my soul finds comfort and seeks expression through my senses. Pinterest feeds my visual need for beauty and color (not to mention adorable puppies, and herds of sheep). Cooking fills the house with pleasant aromas, and the results satisfy my palette. My hands find tactile pleasure in massaging my dogs, and music penetrates and reverberates in the fiber of my being.

When you need to hold disparate parts of your life in tension, what do you do? Share five things that steady your pace, recharge your batteries and invite peace to your soul.

1. Television. I’ll be totally honest, sometimes I just need to run from it all and watch the TV. The drama in the lives of fictional characters causes mine to pale in comparison. And I think it’s just smart to ask myself “What would Meredith Grey do?”

2. A nap. When I am tired I am completely useless. Everything seems big and awful and overwhelming. If I can catch some Zs I get some better perspective on what’s going on.

3. Organizing something. If I can clean out a drawer of alphabetize a bookshelf, I feel like I have a bit more of a handle on my life and am prepared to face things that are in tension. At work, when I am crazy overwhelmed, I organize my desk. At home, I nest. This weekend is going to be a big organizing extravaganza. Not that I’m facing much difficulty but it just is time and makes me feel at home.

4. Yoga. Ah the stretchy goodness of yoga. I like to repeat certain verses in certain poses and concentrate on inhaling as breathing in God’s Spirit and exhaling as breathing out anything that’s negative. Helps me clear the cobwebs and get perspective.

5. Music. Sometimes I just need to put on the worship music and sing about Jesus at the top of my lungs. My voice teachers would be so proud.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: All Around the Mulberry Bush

  1. Ha! Organizing is my favorite procrastinating distraction. I need to stop thinking of it in those terms, because it is always, always useful and productive! TV is good for me, too–a guilty pleasure. Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

