Friday Five: A Little Bit Random

Sea oats in coastal South Carolina

Sea Oats in South Carolina
Deb writes:
I have been busy writing “professional” papers, where it is required that staid, measured prose be properly footnoted, annotated and credited. I am tired of living there!

However, my creative brain is somewhere in the land of strange to illogical. So join me in my flight of thought and tell us:

1. A color that you enjoy (and where you find it)

I really like these colors

2. A food or drink you have discovered recently that is just da bomb!

I dont’t know that there’s one I’ve recently discovered, but I’ve recently re-discovered my favorite spring salad and have been indulging in it for lunches at work. It’s mixed greens, strawberries, dried cranberris, walnuts and fresh mozzarella with cranberry walnut gorgonzola dressing from Trader Joe’s. Bon appetit indeed.

3. A simile for tiredness

Worn out as a one-legged man at a butt-kicking contest

4. A random picture from your phone, camera or computer
IMG_1328[1]

5. Your least favorite bill: car mechanic, dentist or plumber?

Dentist and mechanic. Both feel like hostage situations because you have no choice but to spend the money and it’s money that would be so much fun spent elsewhere.

BONUS: If you are going to have a Lenten practice or discipline, what is it? If you have a book or on-line resource, be sure to share it!

I’m going to be reading through An Altar in the World by Barbara Brown Taylor

PS – had no idea “sea oats” was a thing

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: A Little Bit Random

  1. Thanks for playing! Yes, Sea Oats help keep the integrity of the dunes in a barrier island. And they make a lovely quiet rustling sound, if you stop to listen. 🙂

    Your sentiment on feeling like a “hostage” at the mechanic and dentist is exactly what peeves me so. At least the mechanic is only wallet-pain. The dentist can be personal – wallet AND body.

  2. The salad sounds delicious, but again makes me lament that we have no Trader’s Joe in our area. I only find Trader’s Joe when I visit my children in Austin, Salt Lake City, and Seattle! “An Altar in the World” is such a good book!

Leave a Reply

