Friday Five: Thanksgiving Food Edition

Deb writes:

This week’s Friday Five is because of my preparations for our Thanksgiving dinner celebration, which here in the US will be next Thursday, November 28th. I hope our RevGals and Pals who are not in the US will play along, particularly as it relates to menus and food!

1. Turkey: love it? hate it? self-basted? fry it or roast it? Tofu-turkey? Tell me more. (I’ve only had one roasted turkey come out totally delish so I’m fishing for your tips!)

Turkey is amazing. Love it. But only white meat. Usually when my mom does it, we do it upside down in a roasting bag, brined all night the night before of course. Since we alternate with my brother’s in-laws, this year we’re doing our main dinner on Friday at his house and he’s doing the turkey on the grill. He’s got a smoker thing.

2. Stuffing: bagged? homemade? sage? sausage? cornbread? oysters? nuts? Got any inspiration for me?

My family is from the Midwest so we do DRESSING. That’s basically just stuffing that is baked on the side, not stuffed in the bird. Let me tell you, this is my paternal grandmother’s recipe and it is RIDICULOUS. We have converted more than one dressing-hater with this stuff. It’s got cornbread, regular bread, sausage, onions, celery, mushrooms, pecans, sage, the works. It’s amazing. If it were up to me, I’d experiment with throwing a few dried cranberries in there but my dad would probably disown me for messing with it. Perhaps I’ll do it on the DL at my house 🙂

3. Cranberries: When we celebrated Thanksgiving in Europe one year, our French friends thought we were nuts to choose a very sour berry and then load it with sugar. (Let alone the stuff that comes out of a can in a blob of gelatinous ooze!) What do you do with cranberries?

Again, paternal grandmother to the rescue. We do what’s called Cranberry Fluff. So, the night before you use a food processor or blender to chop up your cranberries and then pour a bunch of sugar in them and let them macerate overnight. The next day you mix in red grapes (that have been cut in half), chopped apple (honey crisp, golden delicious, something firm but sweet), pecans and then fold it all together with whipped cream. It’s amazing and super popular. Converts a lot of haters.

4. Potatoes: (Boil ‘em, mash ‘em, stick ‘em in a stew…) What’s your pleasure?

Mashed. Mashed. Mashed. Mashed. With butter and half and half. Mashed.

5. Pie: I’m married to the Pie Man. Anything but coconut pie floats his boat. What do you make? (or buy?) Pumpkin? Pecan? Apple?

I’m the pie woman. Normally, I do pumpkin pies, one with pecans in it and one without. This year, my neice has specially requested an apple pie so I’m doing some recipe research and see what I can come up with. I’m probably going to do something with a caramel sauce in it because that’s how I roll. PS – also might try using a vodka pie crust recipe, because, well, vodka.

BONUS: A recipe that you’ve tried out and will make it to your table this year.

This is actually something I’m bringing to the church potluck this Sunday because my last initial means I bring dessert:

Pumpkin Pound Cake with Buttermilk Glaze

Cake:
Cooking spray
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
4 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour (about 13 1/2 ounces)
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup fat-free buttermilk

Glaze:

1/3 cup fat-free buttermilk
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons butter
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1/8 teaspoon baking soda

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. To prepare the cake, lightly coat a 10-inch tube pan with cooking spray; dust with 1 tablespoon flour. Spread pumpkin over 2 layers of paper towels; cover with 2 additional layers of paper towels. Let stand about 10 minutes. Scrape drained pumpkin into a bowl.
  3. Place 3/4 cup granulated sugar, brown sugar, and 1/2 cup butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed 3 minutes or until well blended. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in pumpkin and vanilla. Lightly spoon 3 cups flour into dry measuring cups, and level with a knife. Combine flour and next 4 ingredients (through salt) in a bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Add flour mixture and 3/4 cup buttermilk alternately to sugar mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture.
  4. Spoon batter into prepared pan. Bake at 350° for 55 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes on a wire rack. Remove from pan, and cool completely on wire rack.
  5. To prepare glaze, combine 1/3 cup buttermilk and remaining ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat; bring to a boil. Cook 1 minute or until thick, stirring constantly; remove from heat. Drizzle cake with glaze.
One thought on “Friday Five: Thanksgiving Food Edition

  1. I also am in the part of the alphabet that brings dessert… so I’m happy to add another pumpkin variation to my recipe box! 🙂
    Thanks for playing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

