Friday Five: Let’s Eat!

3dogmom writes:

Image

My first ever Friday Five is dedicated to Nikki, sister RevGal, who was hungering for an opportunity to write about Haggis. With that introduction, today’s FF is all about food!

1) Is there a food from a foreign land whose reputation led to trepidation when you had a chance to give it a try? Did you find the courage to sample it anyway? If so, were you pleasantly surprised or did you endorse the less than favorable reputation that preceded it?

When we were in Egypt, we were encouraged to try pigeon, which they consider a delicacy. To me, it was the equivalent of eating a rodent. I tried it, but had a hard time getting out of that mindset. It was basically like dark meat chicken, which I don’t really like anyway. The other dish there that is a common favorite is Molokheyya, a soup made from seaweed. It’s got kind of a slimy-ish texture, but it’s really good, actually, In Alexandria we had it with prawns, which was spectacular.

2) What food from your own country/culture gets a bad rap?

The US has a lot of regional favorites and some of them are more, umm…tasty, than others. I was raised by folks from Oklahoma and so I grew up eating some less traditional stuff, but I love. My favorites are fried chicken gizzards & hearts and liver & onions. Go ahead. Hate on my food choices – I can live with it.

3) Of what food are you fond that others find distasteful?

see #2

4) Is there a country’s food, not native to you, that you go out of your way to eat?

Mexican, Mexican, all things Mexican. My favorite food of all time. I come from Arizona, so I love Sonoran and Oxacan. Tex Mex makes the baby Jesus cry.

5) What is your guilty pleasure food?

see #2. Also ice cream. Almost any kind of ice cream.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: Let’s Eat!

  1. I love Mexican too! It was my birthday on Tuesday and my colleague and our church secretary took me out for lunch. I chose a mexican restaurant of course! 🙂 I just bought ingredients to try a Pinterest enchilada recipe I found.

  2. I really enjoy Mexican, though I don’t really know if I’ve had any that would be considered authentic. If we cook it ourselves from a Mexican cookbook, does that come close? How can you not love a chicken soup that adds avocado to it? Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

