Blogging Elul – #10 See

Blogging Elul

Whoever  fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a  monster. And if you gaze long enough into an abyss, the abyss will gaze back  into you.
Friedrich  Nietzsche

I have a near-photographic memory. Or at least I did before I turned 40. The shutter is closing it seems. But prior to my slide up an over the hill, I could see something once and pretty much capture it, if I was trying to. I’m not one of these party trick people who see and memorize things whether they want to or not. But for the most part, the things I see, really see, stay in my brain, for better or worse.

Remember the children’s song “Be Careful Little Eyes What you See”. I won’t get into what’s theologically wrong with that song but there truth in understanding how important it is to guide our eyes to see things that are helpful, healthy, life-giving, because what we see goes in our brain, and we dwell on the things that are in our brains.

Think on these things.

Leave a Reply

