By Faith…

….Abel offered a sacrifice. Though he died, he still speaks.

.,..Enoch did not experience death

…Noah built an ark

…Abraham set out not knowing where he was going

…Abraham received the power of procreation at an old age

…Isaac blessed Jacob

…Moses chose to share ill-treatment with the people of God

…the people passed through the Red Sea as if it were dry land

…Rahab received the spies in peace

….kingdoms were conquered, promises obtained, lions mouths shut, fire quenched, swords escaped, women received their dead back through resurrection

…all died without receiving the promises, but saw them from a distance and greeted them

(Hebrews 11)

Erin preached about faith today and wow did I need it. I am having to believe God a LOT lately for things that really do seem impossible. Maybe they are. I don’t know. Here’s the thing – I want to believe and I think that God is telling me that they will work out and/or happen but I can’t tell if that’s God saying that or my wishful thinking. It’s easy to look back at the Bible and even at my life and the lives of others and see the big things that God does that require a lot of faith. I’ve been asking for a big thing for a bit now and I don’t know how it’s going to turn out. It’s no Red Sea or chariot of fire, but it’s big to me. As Erin said, faith is choosing to live God’s story rather than the one I would write for myself. In this particular case, the one I would write is pretty good. I’m kind of creative that way. I know God’s is better, but wow, it’s easier to want to live mine because I can see mine in my head. I can’t see God’s. God is keeping this one close to the celestial vest and it’s kind of ticking me off.

Leave a Reply

