Friday Five: Keep Calm and Cowgirl Up!

revkjarla writes:

O.K., so it is the second Friday of August, and I don’t know about you, but, REALLY????? 1/3 of the way through August?

Seriously, though, the last month has been charged with so much professionally and personally, and my mantra has been, “Keep Calm and …….”,  filling in the blank many ways.  Sometimes its “and breathe”, sometimes it’s “and pray”,  and other times it’s “and call your friends”, which seems to be the most used one, because my friends are the souls that remind me to breathe, pray, laugh–and even sometimes, to “cowgirl up!”

So, in that spirit, here is your Friday Five:

1.  First, how are you doing? What’s going on with you?

Thanks so much for asking. I have to say that all but one area of my life is going swimmingly. We’re getting into the busy season at my job so I’ve got a lot going on there. Unfortunately, my pastor is leaving our church. That sucks because I love her, but I know that her new call is the right thing for her. I’m transitioning into a more elevated leadership role in the worship planning and leading areas. I’m working with my parents to plan their 50th wedding anniversary party in October. So far, my favorite is the cake tasting appointments. Floral designers to be called, mannequins to be borrowed, catering to be arranged. It’s all very fun, but if I ever get married – backyard, family, small, no big deal. This stuff is crazy. The one area that’s not going well? Let’s just say it’s broken-heart-related, but I’m cowgirling up on that as well, and it will all be fine.

At the moment, what’s going on with me is that I’m struggling to sleep well. I go through cycles of insomnia and it seems I’m in a big one. I’m physically and mentally exhausted all day and then as soon as I hit the bed – DING – wide awake. It freaking sucks. I’m hoping tonight is my lucky night.

2.  Is there anything you need to Keep Calm and Cowgirl Up for?

My busy season at work which coincides with fall/advent/holiday stuff at church and in life. Jesus, take the wheel.

3.  If you were going to make a “Keep Calm and __________” logo for a t-shirt, what would it be?

I kind of like the original, because I’m pretty much like that. However, If I was going to make one, it would probably have to do with comfort food or pharmaceuticals. like “Keep Calm and Pop a Xanax” or “Keep Calm and Grab a Fro Yo”.

4.  What are you looking forward to in the next week or so?

I have a busy week of some social activities, church stuff, friends visiting and a church leadership retreat. All good stuff, but the big thing I’m looking forward to – HAIR APPOINTMENT!

5.  Use the following words in a sentence:     cape, river, dancing, paws, glory

The Gopher Queen rubbed her paws together gleefully, swept her cape off her shoulders and danced her way up the river and into glory.

Leave a Reply

