Friday Five: Quiet & Simple Edition

Pat writes:

Our Friday Five is very simple today. Share five ways you’ve learned to care for yourself when life becomes overwhelming. What does the pastor do after a rough day in the office, or at meetings, or at a bedside, or even, in the pulpit? Share your best five self-care strategies, and, with any luck, we all will learn at least one or two new ones.

1. The Sunday Afternoon Nap

Sleep doesn’t come to me all that easily, or, more to the point, without pharmaceutical intervention. When it happens, I need to take advantage of it. Sunday afternoons are, for whatever reason, my best sleep of the week. Natural, deep and restful. It’s better when it comes with a football game, but that’s only a few weeks away.

2. Calendar Strategery (will always be my favorite GW Bushism)

As and Introvert on the MBTI (INTJ), I need LOTS of what I like to call Tiffy Time. Therefore I’m always looking at my calendar and making sure I’ve booked some in. I have no problem saying, “I’m not available at that time,” even if the calendar is blank. I’m not available BECAUSE the calendar is blank,

3.  Healthy Habits

I have gotten a lot better with healthy eating and I am back on track with regular exercise. This makes a world of difference in how I feel, how I feel about myself, my mood and sometimes it even helps me sleep.

4. Regular hair appointments

Call me shallow (the beauty of being an INTJ is that I don’t care what you think), but my hair is a big deal to me. I can’t imagine letting it go longer than 8 weeks without hitting the salon. I feel so much better when there’s not a swath of gray hair peeking out to greet the world. I like my hair being fun, cute, stylish and BROWN.

5. Brain Candy

Sometimes, a girl needs to chill with a stupid movie, TV show, a Disney princess flick (I know – my progressive feminist card is about to be revoked) or some other silly form of entertainment. Go nuts, I say. I spend 40 hours a week at a full time job, then I do worship planning and leading for my church, I’m helping a couple of non-profits structure their organizations and I have family and friends. Bring on the cartoons.

6 thoughts on “Friday Five: Quiet & Simple Edition

  1. great list! I agree (and yes – bring on the Looney Toons is what I say. Love me some Bugs Bunny ‘n friends). And I too turn events and commitments down so that I have enough time to be refreshed and renewed during alone time.

Leave a Reply

