Friday Five: Independence Day Edition

Pat writes:

In honor of the 237th anniversary of the adoption of the Declaration of Independence, I invite you to participate in today’s Independence Day edition of the Friday Five! We’ll be looking at all kinds of “independence,” so please join in!

1. How does one typically celebrate your native /adopted land’s Big National Holiday?

Since I’m just a boring American, we do the 4th of July thing. Typical BBQ/fireworks, etc.

2. How do you personally celebrate the holiday described in #1? Any unusual twists on the typical celebration? Is it something you enjoy or endure?

Ummm…I’m on the fence. For the last few years I lived in San Francisco and it was so cold and foggy that fireworks was more something to be endured and I didn’t do it much. This year I’m in Los Angeles with dear friends and we had a really fun celebration last night. I’m thinking I may do this every year 🙂

3. What does the word “independence” mean to you, whether in a political or personal mood? How has that understanding changed throughout your life?

I value my personal independence above all else. At the same time I’m really good at giving lip service to the value of community. It’s something I struggle with because I tell people how it’s ok to be vulnerable but I’m not good at it myself. I’m constantly working to see the value in interdependence and asking for help.

4. When did you first feel that you, personally, had gained independence? Was there a ‘rite of passage’ you would like to share?

I think when I moved to San Francisco that was probably my big moment. I was 26 and it was my first permanent move away from home. Other times had been college moves, and there was some independence in that, but the permanent move was the big one.

5. Tell us about your favorite “indie” film, music label, book store…

When Indie films first became big in the early 90s with Four Weddings & A Funeral, I was already on that train so I was excited to see that come forward. Some of my favorites are:

Mrs. Parker & The Vicious Circle
Four Weddings & A Funeral
Chasing Amy
Stolen Summer

Right now I’m OBSESSED with a Canadian film called Cairo Time. It’s on Netflix so I encourage everyone to watch it immediately. It’s a beautiful film but it’s so perfectly scored that the music just stabs me in the heart. Love it.

As far as book stores, there’s one in San Francisco called Green Apple that is amazing.

Bonus Question: Is there a time you remember going “against the tide” of advice or precedent, or in some other way? Or perhaps a time you wish you had done so? Share it here!

I don’t know that I’ve ever NOT gone against the tide of advice or precedent. I’m cantankerous that way.

Let us know in the comments if you have played… We’d love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: Independence Day Edition

  1. I am really a huge move fan, and Cairo Time is going right on my queue… I think I a lot of women struggle with the interdependence thing. We’re not really encouraged culturally to embrace it… It’s an ongoing learning for me as well. Glad you had a good 4th. Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

