I’m Such A….

Some people really like those personality test inventory things and some people really don’t. I guess on some level, that is its own personalty test. But I kind of find them fascinating. Anything that can give my socially awkward self a handle on how to deal with people is fine by me.

The one with which I’m most familiar is the Meyers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI). I’ve taken it several times and I pretty much always come out the same way: INTJ. Here are some fun facts about the INTJ:

  • INTJs are one of the rarest of the sixteen personality types, and account for about 1–4% of the population
  • INTJs tend to be quiet and reserved. They generally prefer interacting with a few close friends rather than a wide circle of acquaintances, and they expend energy in social situations (whereas extraverts gain energy).
  • INTJs tend to be more abstract than concrete. They focus their attention on the big picture rather than the details and on future possibilities rather than immediate realities
  • INTJs tend to value objective criteria above personal preference. When making decisions they generally give more weight to logic than to social considerations
  • INTJs tend to plan their activities and make decisions early. They derive a sense of control through predictability, which to perceptive types may seem limiting

It’s like they based the description on me. Here is my favorite paragraph describing my type (emphasis mine):

INTJs apply (often ruthlessly) the criterion “Does it work?” to everything from their own research efforts to the prevailing social norms. This in turn produces an unusual independence of mind, freeing the INTJ from the constraints of authority, convention, or sentiment for its own sake … INTJs are known as the “Systems Builders” of the types, perhaps in part because they possess the unusual trait of combining imagination and reliability. Whatever system an INTJ happens to be working on is for them the equivalent of a moral cause to an INFJ; both perfectionism and disregard for authority come into play. Personal relationships, particularly romantic ones, can be the INTJ’s Achilles heel … This happens in part because many INTJs do not readily grasp the social rituals … Perhaps the most fundamental problem, however, is that INTJs really want people to make sense.
—Marina Margaret Heiss
If you really want to screw yourself over, try wanting people to make sense. And not grasping the social rituals? I practically invented that. I hope those of you who know me in person read this and go, “Ohhhh, ok. Got it.”
Another one of these personality type things is the Enneagram. In this system personality types are given numbers and then each number has “wings” of other numbers. I’m not as familiar with this one, but I know that I’m a 5 with a 6 wing. What is a 5, you ask?

Type Five in Brief

Fives are alert, insightful, and curious. They are able to concentrate and focus on developing complex ideas and skills. Independent, innovative, and inventive, they can also become preoccupied with their thoughts and imaginary constructs (read: obsessive & crazy — my editorial). They become detached, yet high-strung and intense. They typically have problems with eccentricity, nihilism, and isolation. At their Best: visionary pioneers, often ahead of their time, and able to see the world in an entirely new way.

  • Basic Fear: Being useless, helpless, or incapable
  • Basic Desire: To be capable and competent
  • Enneagram Five with a Four-Wing: “The Iconoclast”
  • Enneagram Five with a Six-Wing: “The Problem Solver”

Key Motivations: Want to possess knowledge, to understand the environment, to have everything figured out as a way of defending the self  from threats from the environment.

So those two are fairly similar – the INTJ and the 5 thing. At least I’m consistent. Until the HBDI. The Herrmann Brain Dominance Indicator is a test that focuses on whole-brain thinking. It divides the brain and the thinking into 4 quadrants labelled logically A, B, C & D (yay for making sense!). turns out I had really high scores in the C & D quadrants. I really thought I’d be higher in B, but totally not. The basic characteristics of all the quadrants are:

A: Logical, analyzer, mathematical, technical, problem solve (no surprise – my lowest category at 38)

B: Controlled, conservative, planner, organizational, problem solver (second lowest at 57)

C:  Interpersonal, emotional, musical, spiritual, talker (highest score at 120)

D: Imaginative, synthesizer, artistic, holistic, conceptualizer (second highest score at 107)

I’m a little bit fascinated by these results because they’re mostly different from the other two. They’re even more interesting in light of my recent Reiki session in which I was told I was blocked creatively. Maybe the day I took the test my creativity really wanted to get out? I don’t know. Just find these things interesting.

 

Leave a Reply

