Reiki

Last Thursday I had my first full Reiki session with woman from my church who practices it in a unique and Christian form, without losing the original intent. For the uninitiated, Reiki is a Japanese practice developed in 1922 by Japanese Buddhist Mikao Usui. It’s a hands-on form of alternative medicine and has uses for all kinds of healing.

Reiki has a set of 5 Principles, or Commandments that are based in Buddhism, but are pretty universal. Here is Usui’s statement:

The secret art of inviting happiness,
The miraculous medicine for all diseases.

At least for today:

Do not be angry,
Do not worry,
Be grateful,
Work with diligence,
Be kind to people.

Every morning and evening, join your hands in meditation and pray with your heart.
State in your mind and chant with your mouth.

Some Christians might have issues with me or any Christian person using Reiki as a form of spiritual practice or therapy, but here’s why I don’t: I define truth as anything that God says is true. If you read those 5 statements, do they line up with what God says? Yes, they do. So frankly, I don’t care if Bugs Bunny said them. I think they’re true because God thinks they’re true and I found this session to be extremely beneficial.

 

Susan, my practitioner, did about 15 minutes of the hands-on (or rather hands-over) and then we did an exercise where she put a mat on the ground and in each corner, and image that represented four aspects of the person and I found objects that represented who I am and how I

She said I was primarily blocked in the creative/emotional area – duh. The finding objects and talking about who I was and what could be causing the blockage was an extremely helpful exercise. Some things that I discovered are going to be worked out and that I can’t write about publicly, but I did discover some important stuff about where I am.

1. One of the things that was stifling my creativity and emotions was the inability to fulfill who I believe I am to be, just because of space and financial constraints of living in San Francisco. Now that I’m in Arizona, what is that going to look like?

2. I need to get off my ass and get involved in worship at church. I emailed that to Erin and she and I are meeting this week. I’ve been holding back that nudging and I need to move forward.

3. I’ve got some conflict to resolve. Nothing major but there have already been good steps toward resolution.

4. A passion for Africa kept coming back, particularly a passion for the children in Africa. I don’t know what that means or how it will be worked out, but it’s there.

Already, God has given me some moments that confirm I’m headed in the right direction and has made some conversations happen that needed to happen. I’m feeling good about what I discovered and what’s to come.

Leave a Reply

