Twitter Breakthough

Today I’m catching up on the twitterverse and I see a tweet by Iyanla Vanzant that reads:

“We are love from the core of our being. If we can live from our being of love, we can’t help but attract more of what we are.”

Go ahead, mock me, but I love me some Iyanla. I’ve loved her since I read In The Meantime back in the 90s and I love her even more now on OWN. You’ll be fine.

Her post is cheesy as hell and I have a lot of issues with the whole attraction/The Secret crap that Iyanla and the New Thought folks are into. However, today, when I read her post, something clicked inside me. I come to myself, and, therefore others, from an assumption of complete brokenness with an eye to fixing. I was raised with a pruing metaphor for self development. You look for the “dead” or “bad” branches and prune them. That’s not a bad way to look at things, but it’s not the only way. I have been focused on looking for what to pick out and get rid of rather than loving and celebrating what is there, both in myself and others.

This is not to say that we all aren’t broken. We totally are. But rather than starting from the problems I need to start at a place of God’s Image, and God is Love. God does the fixing. I do the journeying, the loving, the praying the celebrating.

I’ve realized that I owe an apology to all of my loved ones for not seeing them as the beautiful already/not yet creations in God’s image that you are. Where I have been overly critical or harsh, not gracious, not helpful, not loving, please forgive me.

One thought on “Twitter Breakthough

Leave a Reply

