Friday Five: What’s On Your Shelf?

Deb writes:

You probably have, like me, a study full of books. Maybe they spill into another room. They go with you in the car to appointments when you might have some dead space in your schedule. In my study, the books are double-stacked and in somewhat precarious piles. I’ve always dreamed of a study that looked like this:

Recently I decided to re-organize my study and put books of like topic and purpose together. (Of course, they don’t stay that way — but that’s another matter!) I also culled out some books which I hesitated to even donate to the library book sale because they were either extremely outdated or had content that I didn’t want the unexamined mind to read. (Not quite as bad as “The Total Woman” but… you get my drift!)

SOooo… with that in mind, let’s talk about the books in your life!

1. STUDYING: What is your favorite book or series for sermon prep or study? Or have you moved from books to on-line tools for your personal study?

I’ve moved to some online tools, and I use some of my old textbooks from seminary. I steal from some RevGals blogs for sure 😉 And when I say “steal”, I mean kinda borrow but always give credit.

2. IN THE QUEUE: Do you have a queue of books you are longing to read or do you read in bits and pieces over several books at a time? What’s in the queue?

I do – I have a wish list on amazon.com and audible.com. I used to have multiple books going at a time, but I no longer have the attention span. Right now, I have Rachel Held Evans’ A Year of Biblical Womanhood book at the top of my list, as well as:

Help. Thanks. Wow. The Three Essential Prayers by Anne LaMotte

In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin by Erik Larson (I’m obsessed w/ WWII)

The Book of Mormon Girl: A Memoir of an American Faith by Joanna Brooks

Does This Baby Make Me Look Straight?: Confessions of a Gay Dad by Dan Bucatinsky

This is just a FEW of the 95 books on my wish list. Have always been addicted to books.

3. FAVORITE OF ALL TIME: What’s one book that you have to have in your study? Is it professional, personal, fun or artistic? (For instance, I have a copy of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. It just helps sometimes.)

I have several faves that I heart a LOT  but the top all time is  A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

4. KINDLE OR PRINT? or both? Is there a trend in your recent purchases?

Actually, kind of a fan of audio. How you like me now? 🙂

Ok, so here’s the thing. I don’t have a tablet yet – I know – super behind. BUT, my merry Christmas to me gift is going to be a Kindle Fire.  I feel like non-fiction books will be great on the Kindle b/c I like to mark/underline and go back and find passages. I like audio for fiction because I listen to books on my commute to work and I like to lay in bed at night and listen to a book.

5. DISCARDS: I regularly cruise the “FREE BOOKS” rack at our local library. (I know, I know. It’s a bad habit!) When’s the last time you went through your books and gave some away (or threw some away?) Do you remember what made the discard pile?

In my last couple of moves I’ve gotten rid of a LOT of books, which I HATE, but I donated them to Salvation Army and I hope some folks are getting good use  out of them.

I do have PERMANENT EMOTIONAL SCARS from my mom’s anti-hoarding tendencies. I had the ENTIRE collection of original Nancy Drew hardcovers and she SOLD THEM AT A GARAGE SALE. Traumatized.

Leave a Reply

