Friday Five: Summer Fun Edition

kathrynjz writes:

In my neck of the woods folks who have children of a certain age are doing a dead sprint through end of school year activities: piano recitals, baseball tournaments, travel soccer games, gymnastics meets, dance recitals, graduations, band concerts, field trips and end-of-the year fill in the blank.

I’m ready for Summer. True, I still have to work, but I’m ready for a different rhythm, some more free space to do stuff and the trips we have planned.

Please tell us five things you are doing this Summer.

Bonus? One thing you’re not doing, but WANT to be doing.

And if you happen to live in a place where this does not apply, let us know what you do in the Summer.

My Comments:

First of all, this summer (beginning in 19 days, actually) I will be taking the longest vacation of my adult life.  This is a trip mostly provided for by a very generous friend for a group of women who don’t know each other but, I’m told, are all awesome in our own way. A big part of this trip is going to be things I’ve never done. Tacked on to this trip before and after are time with family and friends in various parts of the US.  Here’s my list of 5 things that I’ll be doing as part of my vacation this summer.

1. Spending a week in Majorca.

I’ve never been. I’m kinda stoked. I’ll just be hanging out here for a WEEK.

2. Spending a few days in Philly.

I’ve not been back for several years, so it will be good to catch up with friends and family. I’m staying with a good friend who’s doing an internship at Broad Street , seeing a couple of college friends, and having dinner with family. I have cousins who grew up in India, so they’re prepping a big curry feast – yes, please!

3. Biking and kayaking.

Part of this trip to Majorca involves some physical exertion. I’ve not ridden a bike in years and I have never kayaked so this will be interesting. Typically, I avoid activity that requires a helmet, but I’m game, so let’s do this!

4. Spending a week with the babies!

I get to see my niece & nephew (and I suppose, parents, brother & sister-in-law) for the week after Majorca. They’ve already told me that we’re going to the science museum, swimming pool and we’ll see the movie Brave, but only if Chloe liked it because she will have already seen it. I’ve also told them that we’re going to visit La Piazza Al Forno for a special pizza date. It will be 3,000 degrees there, as is typical, so I’m going to have some packing challenges.

5. Two new modes of transportation

This trip will involve me flying Virgin America for the first time. I know, I know, it’s awesome, but here’s the deal – I only go to Phoenix and they don’t freaking fly there. Fortunately, they now offer service to Philly, so I jumped on that one. From Philly, I take Amtrak to NY to fly to Majorca. I’ve never taken Amtrak. I’m having all kinds of luggage issues because Amtrak has some pretty strict guidelines and I can’t check bags. I hate that I’m having to base my whole packing system on this one 2-hour leg of my journey. I’m an over-packer and need options.

BONUS:

It’s hard to imagine that there’s anything I’m not doing that I’d want to be doing this summer. That just seems greedy.

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: Summer Fun Edition

Leave a Reply

