Friday Five: Late

Jan writes:

All day I have looked repeatedly at RevGals to see where today’s Friday Five is. . . . AND only right now, at 2 pm in Texas, do I realize I am the one in charge! I am sorry I am so late and forgetful.

That brings forth all the times I’ve been late or forgot something. How about you?

When have you been late or a no-show? When have you forgotten something or someone?

1. at church

One time, years ago, I was trying to get to church in SF from where I lived in Marin and pretty much every street was closed or clogged with traffic b/c of Bay to Breakers. I was singing with the worship team and literally ran up on the stage during the greeting as if nothing happened, grabbed a mic, and got my Jesus on.

2. at home

I go to bed with ambitious plans for the following day or for my days off, and then when it comes to it, I am exhausted and just want to chill. I also always make my lists for running errands and then leave the lists at home. Awesome.

3. at work

I’ve been late to work twice this week because of what I now realize to be a dead alarm clock. The first time I thought I just slept through it. Nope. It’s dead.

4. with friends?

My friends are infinitely patient because I’m infinitely forgetful. I choose to blame it on my age. I have the best laid plans and intention, but I always end up running late and forgetting something.

5.  Where else?

I tend to always be later for the first thing in the day, regardless of the time of day. It could be 9am or 3 pm – if it’s my first obligation, I’m scrambling.

Leave a Reply

