Take It Down a Notch, Tim

OMG – love this sketch. So true. I’m so over Tim Tebow & his Tebowing. He’s I’m sure a nice, sincere guy, but the backlash from his over-religious talk is a clear indication that we’re past the time when public figures are who we look to for our faith models, and I think that’s a good thing. I don’t super care about the faith of football players. I care if they can play. Does God help them win? Doubt it. Is their talent a gift? Yes. Their preparation and practice has more to do with their success than anything else. I don’t find it affirming for a public figure to agree with my faith. And I think it’s a short trip to prosperity gospel to say that God is behind success, implying that God is far away from failure. How many players pray fervently in secret and lose all the time? Or win and don’t make a big deal of it?

I don’t question Tim’s faith, and I think he’s being honest. I don’t know if he set out to become this icon of conservative Christianity, but here he is. He’s dug himself a hole that he can’t Tebow himself out of.

“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.  But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”  – Matthew 6:5-6

 

Leave a Reply

