“It’s My Gift!”

I cannot tell you how much I love the Face Time on the iphone. Amazing. It makes the distance and time between visits with the babies so much more bearable. On Sunday I was cooking dinner for church and video chatting with Chloe while I was working and she was drawing and chatting. She was telling me a little about the new church that her family is attending and I asked her if she already knew some people there, and she said that she knew a few. Then I said, “That’s ok, because you’re really good at making new friends.” And she replied. “It’s my gift!” Of course I laughed and she looked at me like I was the crazy one and said, “What? IT’S MY GIFT!”

I absolutely love how she’s able to state that with such confidence and certainty and doesn’t feel the need to feign humility or qualify it in any way. She is herself. Making friends is her gift. She is so loved, supported and well-parented that she can have all the confidence in the world because she knows she is safe.  She hasn’t been beaten down by life and I hope she never is. If someone even looks at her sideways, I’m coming after them.

As adults we have experienced all kinds of loss and rejection and it changes us, not always for the better. We lose our sense of safety as we move away from a stable household or if we never had one and then must somehow establish our own. If you have had a stable, loving up-bringing, you come to adulthood with an infrastructure on which to hang your own household. If you didn’t, you’re starting from scratch. Both have their advantages.

Regardless of your background you are loved and supported by God and God’s people. You have to learn to create a stable, healthy family if a biological one doesn’t exist. You cannot spend your life attaching all your choices to past experiences. They influence, yes, but they can’t be allowed to control. Only when you are able to find a calm center in the midst of life’s chaos can you look at someone who is laughing at you and state with unequivocal certainty

IT’S MY GIFT!

One thought on ““It’s My Gift!”

  1. Thanks for posting this, Tiffy! There is true wisdom in your words. Have you read “The Sacred Romance: Drawing Closer to the Heart of God” by Brent Curtis and John Eldredge? Your posting reminded me of this deep and thoughtful book. They explore some of these same ideas. Love, Barb

Leave a Reply

