I’m A Presbyterian Elder, Suckas!

Not just an Elder, a RULING Elder. How you like me now…

BITCHES!?!?

Kidding. This is just part of the process of me becoming a commissioned lay pastor for our church during this interim time and possibly to continue if I get on with the new pastor.

Our church is very casual and fun but I feel like we strike a good balance between taking things seriously when we need to an not being too precious about things that really don’t warrant it. I found ways to answer the questions put to me other than “I do” because I will NOT use those 2 words at the front of a church, for fear I’d break out in hives. I committed to growing the church, reaching out to the community, promoting peace and, apparently, being Reformed. (flashing to social justice scene in West Side Story – “I’m depraved on account-a I’m DEPRIVED!”). I was really glad we sang “Better Is One Day” tonight because I’ve always loved Psalm 84:10 – “Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.”

This is a step in a larger process for me. It’s been a number of years since I felt called to be a pastor and I always told God that God would have to make that happen. As is typical with God, it’s been a slow process, but perfectly timed. I’ve written a lot on here about how my current job is very pastoral and how fortunate I was to learn from my previous pastor. While I’m not super reverent about much of anything, I do really take this seriously. I’ve begun regularly praying in earnest for our community. We have such great, loving, intelligent people who have a passion for changing our city for good and I’m really proud to be part of that. I know that I have much to learn but I feel like this community is learning with me, and it seems that the expectations are realistic. I really do love these folks and I’m glad that they’re letting me be part of their number for this time.

Leave a Reply

