Friday Five: Home Sweet Home

Songbird writes:

I’ve got home on my mind: what it feels like, how we make it, what we carry from the past and how we separate other people’s leftovers from objects that really reflect our identity. My family has had one home for the past 13 years, the longest I’ve ever lived anywhere. As the time when all the children are gone comes closer, I wonder where my next home will be?

So here are five questions about home.

1) Where was your first home?

Honestly, I’m counting my current apartment as my first home. I’ve lived here for almost 2 months now and it’s the first place in SF I’ve had on my own, not counting the grad school apt.

2) Do you ever dream about places you used to live?

Not sure if this is asleep dreaming or thinking wistfully dreaming, but either way, not really. I’ve lived a lot of places.

3) If you could bring back one person from your past to sit at your dinner table, who would you choose?

I had a good friend in college named Michelle and she was African American, came from difficult circumstances, and was on her way to becoming a brilliant screen writer. She abruptly ended our friendship because I’m white and she couldn’t see herself having white friends because of her beliefs about race. I think about her often, wish her well, and would love to re-connect and catch up on her career.

4) What’s your favorite room in your current living space?

My bedroom. My current living space is tiny, but it’s mine. However, the bedroom is a good sized room. I’m still in the process of putting it together, but I already love it because it’s MINE!

5) Is there an object or an item where you live now that represents home? If not, can you think of one from your childhood?

It’s a good thing you guys won’t laugh at me Β πŸ™‚ I tried to think of something else, but “The Fork” kept popping into my mind. We have this large, notched fork that was my grandmother’s that I must have when I cook Thanksgiving dinner. It’s the source of all my powers.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: Home Sweet Home

Leave a Reply

