Friday Five: Gratitude

Terri writes:

The Place I Want To Get Back To

is where
in the pinewoods
in the moments between
the darkness

and first light
two deer
came walking down the hill
and when they saw me

they said to each other, okay,
this one is okay,
let’s see who she is
and why she is sitting

on the ground, like that,
so quiet, as if
asleep, or in a dream,
but, anyway, harmless;

and so they came
on their slender legs
and gazed upon me
not unlike the way

I go out to the dunes and look
and look and look
into the faces of flowers;
and then one of them leaned forward

and nuzzled my hand, and what can my life
bring to me that could exceed
that brief moment?
For twenty years

I have gone every day to the same woods,
not waiting, exactly, just lingering.
Such gifts bestowed,
can’t be repeated.

If you want to talk about this
come to visit. I live in the house
near the corner, which I have named
Gratitude.

(Mary Oliver, “Thirst”, Beacon Press, 2006)

For this Friday Five I invite you to offer five gratitudes you recognize in your life.

1. My mother’s hands
The other day I was looking at my hands and noting (as I have many times) that my hands are exactly like my mother’s. We live about 800 miles apart and I only get to see her a few times a year. Realistically, I know she won’t be around forever. I like that I have her hands because I can look down and see a bit of her and know that she’s always with me.

2. Health
I’m not 100% perfect on the health-o-meter, but way better than many others, so I’m glad that I can do what I want, when I want, with minimal limitations.

3. Musical ability
I like that I can sing well. I’ve said this before, but it’s kind of fun to be able to bust that out when I want to 🙂

4. The Family (biologically & chosen)
Cliche, I know, but there it is. I’d be lost w/out this support system of awesome folks.

5. Adapatability
I like that change doesn’t stress me out and that I can be very fluid when it comes to life’s curve balls. I recognize that I have that freedom because I can feel safe because of the aforementioned support system.

Leave a Reply

