Friday Five: My Name Spells Gratitude

 

Jan writes:

A wise person once told me to make an ABC list of things I am grateful for any time I feel sad or depressed. It is a good practice when one is feeling happier than that, too. So for this Friday Five, I suggest that you use your name or nickname of about five letters and express your gratitude about something that starts with each letter. Some people have longer names, so you decide how you will go about this! (Last names, middle names, and nicknames count!)

Personal note:

All my names are really long, so I’m going with my work nickname, which is T Flame.

T – Talents. Ok, I really don’t mean to sound snotty here, but I have a set of talents that I really like. I’m not perfect, and there are plenty of things that I suck at. I just really like the things I can do. I am a really good singer. I’m a good public speaker. I’m good at people-things. I cook well. I like the set of gifts I have.  I’m sure there’s something wrong with me having to justify all this and I’ll maybe write about that another time, but there it is.

F – Friends/Family. Cliche, I know, but I have such a wonderful community. I would be lost without them.

L – Location. I love that I live in San Francisco. It’s the greatest city in the world and I can’t imagine living anywhere else.

A – Activities. Through my work and as part of my work, I get to do a lot of community service and that is something I really value. I appreciate that the small difference I get to make is doubled or more by my company’s foundation because we have a passion for our communities.

M – Mom. I know I’ve already used friends/family, but I’m going to get specific here. My mom is really my best friend. I am so grateful for her. She’s the first person I want to tell anything good or bad that’s going on. She’s awesome.

E – Electronic Communication. I’m really grateful that through all the social networking stuff we have nowadays (I sound like I’m 80) I can keep up with people I know who are now scattered all over the world. And, let’s be honest. The facebook kept me from having to go to my 20 year high school reunion. I already knew what they were doing, so I didn’t need to travel. Cool, yes?

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: My Name Spells Gratitude

  1. Yay for electronic communication!

    And, I have much more concern for people who don’t care for their set of talents than someone who lives in to what they have.

  2. T Flame is a great nickname! Just think how fortunate your friends and family are to experience all of those talents! And you are probably also good at recognizing and celebrating theirs too. Seems like a very good thing all around!

Leave a Reply

