Friday Five: ACHOO!

Mary Beth writes:

Hello, my name is Mary Beth, and I’m allergic to ligustrum.

Ligustrum is a type of privet hedge and it is very invasive. VERY. It’s a spready green bush with leaves of various sizes and tiny white flowers of a head-piercing sweetness.

The house I grew up in had 14-foot ligustrum bushes on three sides. The house I live in now, 250 miles to the north, also has several…they are a different variety but the flowers still get me. Instant sinus attack, that’s what these are. And: they are in bloom.

You can remove them, but they grow back. Forever and ever. My husband recently had his helper cut all the blooming branches off of this one, next to where I park my car. What a guy!

So, thinking about allergies:

1. Do you experience any seasonal allergies? Are you allergic to anything else?

OMG. Yes. Every time I’ve been to any doctor when he/she looks in my ears, nose & throat the reaction is always the same – “You’re the most allergic person I’ve ever seen.” I have allergies all year – fall is actually worse than spring, but it’s pretty constant. I have some food intolerances, but they’re not major. Melons make my throat itch, but that’s it.

2. What kinds of symptoms do you experience during your allergic reactions?

Sneezing, itchy watery eyes, sore throat, headache, fatigue. It’s awesome. I sometimes wish I could turn my whole head inside-out and just scratch.

3. How do you manage your allergies? (ie: medication, avoidance, alternative therapies, etc)

I take Claritin every day and recently I’ve gone back to the chiropractor more regularly so that is starting to help as well.

4. What is the strangest allergy you’ve ever heard of?

Not strange, but awful – chocolate. How can a person live like that?

5. How do you feel about school and social policies that banning peanuts and other allergens?

My brother was pretty ticked when he learned his kids couldn’t take pb&j to school. He’s a little, dark, shall we say, and he thought they should bring the peanut butter & use it to weed out the weak ones. I’m on the fence about it. It is a severe allergy for some, but I don’t know that it should be a blanket policy for kids lunches – for school snacks, yes. I’d say it should only apply if there’s a kid w/ one of those severe allergies in the class.

Leave a Reply

