Starting The Year

I usually don’t do anything on New Year’s Eve. I think it’s kind of a bullshit holiday, like Valentine’s. It’s made up. I mean, the year actually does have to come to an end at some point, but when did it evolve into this pressure to have a major event that sets the tone for the rest of the year and quite possibly THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!!! It’s dumb. Anyway, I usually stay in, watch a movie, go to bed, like any other night of the year. Not a big deal. This year, I actually did a grown up dinner with friends and it was really quite lovely. It all started because my friend T needed to get out of something. She came to me and said she needed plans, so I said, consider yourself busy. I did some looking around and landed on Prospect, one of the best new restaurants in the City. The had a prix fixe 3-course meal for the first service and a 4 course meal plus champagne for the second service. I went for the first service and faxed away a contract, yes, a contract, for dinner and we were off. Along the way we added Leslie to the party and it was a lovely dinner for three.

First, of course, a cocktail. Mine was something blackberry w/ gin and the foam on top was egg white. And there was Meyer lemon in there somewhere, I think.

The meal started with an amuse bouche of horseradish panna cotta with caviar and beets. Normally, I run screaming in the opposite direction of beets but it looked so pretty and cost so much money that I had to dig in. It was amazing! Savory, obviously horseradish but not too strong, the caviar was perfect, and, of course, sustainable.

The first course that I chose was a lobster & sea urchin risotto. Amazing. Slightly al dente, creamy, large chunks of lobster. I accidentally took a couple of bites before I photographed.

The second course was a beef tenderloin. Good heavens it was perfect. There was a potato puree and some roasted root vegetables & crispy greens that were the perfect compliment. The meat was so tender that I didn’t need a knife – the fork went right through it. Heaven.

Third was dessert & it was so beautiful & delicious that I forgot to photograph
it. It was a warm chocolate cake with dark chocolate ice cream, whipped cream and pomegranate seeds & a little pomegranate syrup. I know. It was awesome. All in all, an auspicious start to a new year, if you’re into that kind of thing.

One thought on “Starting The Year

  1. ha! I’m the same way with NYE. It’s always all this build-up and waiting and waiting and then 12:00 hits and it’s like, ‘that’s it? that’s what I stayed awake for?’ No explosions or ANYthing. * lame * Your evening sounds perfect!

Leave a Reply

