Friday Five: Seasonal Survival Guide

Whether a RevGal or a Pal most of us in this cyber community have enhanced rWhether a RevGal or a Pal most of us in this cyber community have enhanced responsibilities during this time of year. We also have traditions – religious and secular – that mark the season for us in a more personal way.

For this Friday Five please let us know five of the things that mark the season for you. And the bonus? Tell us one thing that does absolutely nothing for you.esponsibilities during this time of year.

We also have traditions – religious and secular – that mark the season for us in a more personal way. For this Friday Five please let us know five of the things that mark the season for you. And the bonus? Tell us one thing that does absolutely nothing for you.

1. Black Friday

I work in retail HR doing all the hiring for one of our brand’s flagship stores, so for me the weeks leading up to Black Friday are a little harried.  That auspicious day in retail land marks the end of the hiring season for me & I can relax & begin to enjoy the holidays

2. My Christmas ITunes Mix

I have THE BEST Christmas music. I have excellent taste in music overall (in my humble yet accurate opinion) but my Christmas mix is particularly stellar. I don’t bust it out until after Thanksgiving. This year I started listening slightly before actual Thanksgiving but only because I went home & did an early Thanksgiving with the family (see #1).

3. Chili & Tamales & Mexican Coke

I’m from Phoenix & while my family doesn’t have an ounce of Latino blood, local culture wears off & our family’s traditional Christmas Eve dinner is chili, tamales & Mexican coke. Mexican Coke is the best b/c it’s not encumbered by pesky government regulations & it has like 1,000 times the sugar & caffeine of American Coke. It’s awesome. Phoenix also has little ladies who make scads of tamales in their homes & then peddle them to local businesses, including my family’s, so we have fresh, little lady made tamales that are crazy to die for good.

4. Christmas on Christmas Eve

My dad, or “Sir” as I call him, can’t open Christmas presents in daylight. It’s a German thing. So we do everything on Christmas Eve & then we sleep in & do nothing on Christmas day. It’s kinda perfect, b/c we’re all night people so we can stay up late (see: Mexican Coke)

5. Christmas day movies

I ALWAYS see a movie on Christmas day. Last year, it was two. Usually it’s what’s considered the biggest Oscar contender. This year, however, the Cowboys are playing & I have kind of a busy work schedule, so we’ll see what happens. I may just stay home in the bed & watch football.

Leave a Reply

