Advent Reflections: Peace

Advent is upon us. The first Sunday is all about peace & I think it’s a great place to start. As part of our sermon discussion, Bruce asked if we had any experiences to share about peace & my relationship with my family immediately sprang to mind.

I love my family. Really. We get along swimmingly & I speak to them often. I consider my parents & my brother & his wife friends & of course I worship the niece & nephew. We don’t agree on much, however. We are different in our political & theological views. We don’t have similar lifestyles, preferences or even interests. Over the years we’ve been able to look past these differences & have come to value the relationships over the petty things that would divide us & truly do love & respect our differences.

There are people in my life with whom I am not able to do that. We don’t fight but then, we don’t interact at all. Is that peace or indifference? Is it enough to have an absence of conflict without genuine love & respect? Paul says that we should be at peace with all people inasmuch as it is within our power to do so. Sometimes it’s as much as I can do to just not talk to people to avoid a conflict. Is that ok? Is that peace? I don’t know. It’s part of my journey.

Leave a Reply

