Friday Five: Insomnia Edition

Mompriest write:

Last night was a restless night in my home. We are dog and cat sitting for our daughter, which means we have a combined household of three adult humans, four large dogs, two cats, and one kitten. And for some reason the dogs, cats, and kitten, all wanted to sleep in OUR bed. Did I mention that it’s just a double bed? Did I mention that it was warm in our room – too cool to turn the air conditioning on but no breeze to blow the cool night air in….add to that my general age-related tendency toward insomnia, and it was a difficult night for sleeping.

A number of my facebook friends seem to have similar challenges sleeping….

So, on that note our Friday Five today will focus on sleep, or the lack there of.
1. Are you prone to sleep challenges? Insomnia, snoring, allergies? Other sleep challenges?

I either sleep like the dead or not at all. Most of the time I sleep well, but I go through phases of insomnia. I do have allergies and I snore, but that’s really no one else’s problem.

2. When you can’t sleep what do you do? Toss and turn? Get up and read? Play computer games?

On rare occasions I will get up and read. Typically I try to lie there, think relaxing thoughts, and console myself that at least I’m resting even if I’m not sleeping.

3. When you do sleep do you remember your dreams? Or just snipets of them?

I do remember them – vividly. And the whole thing. My dreams are like movies, and sometimes I’ve actually dreamt entire movies.

4. Can you share a funny or confusing dream you’ve had? Or a dream you have over and over?

I used to have a recurring dream about my high school boyfriend. I think I’ve written about it. He reappears in the present and announces that we’re getting married. Everyone is all about it and starts planning and I panic, trying to convince them to stop, but everyone just pats me on the head and assures me that I’m going to be fine. I follow him around relentlessly trying to convince him that it’s a bad idea and that we don’t know each other any more. I ask him what I majored in in college and he doesn’t answer, just says it’s all going to be fine. It freaked me out. I haven’ t had that one in years, though.

5. When you don’t sleep how do you get through the day? Lots of coffee? or a nap later in the day?

I try to just power through. I might have a coke at lunch, otherwise I have my normal amount of coffee in the morning and hope that my fatigue will contribute to extra good sleep that night.

Leave a Reply

