Friday Five: Movies

Share your preferences, opinions, and recommendations about movies! Choose 5 types of movies to discuss:

  • action
  • thriller
  • mystery
  • drama
  • comedy
  • foreign
  • animated
  • children’s
  • science fiction
  • western/cowboy
  • ?

Bonus: Tell about the first movie you ever saw and/or the last one!

1. Drama

I love me some drama. My favorite movie OF ALL TIME is Out of Africa. When I went to Nairobi, I got to go to Karen Blixen’s house and see where the movie was filmed and I was like a teenager at a boy band concert. I feel like dramas are more true to life, however over-the-top.

2. Comedy

Oddly enough, despite my love for the high drama, there lurks within me an eleven year old boy who enjoys bodily function humor more than he should. Dumb & Dumber? Yes, please. Wedding Crashers, The Hangover and Old School – brilliant works of cinema all.

3. Musicals

The pinnacle of this category is, of course The Sound of Music. There is also Grease, Chicago, Mary Poppins, and Hairspray. Animated Disney counts in this category as well, because the music from The Little Mermaid and Beauty & The Beast is brilliant.

4. Character-Driven Indies

I like the talky, people focused stories, rather than necessarily plot-driven flicks. The plot can ramble all it wants as long as the conversations are good, dialog is witty and banter is believable. Early Kevin Smith movies, particularly Chasing Amy, Jun0, and Walking & Talking fit into this category.

5. Costume/Period Dramas

Bring it on! I know this automatically evokes Jane Austen, but these are my least favorite of the genre. Think Age of Innocence, Atonement, Amadeus and Gone With the Wind.

BONUS:

The first movie I ever saw in the theaters was Star Wars. Not the lame re-mastered crap, but the original, cheesy, bad effects Star Wars. It was 1978 and it was for my 6th birthday. It was one of those huge, old school, single giant screen theaters that has since been torn down. It was a Phoenix landmark and the last movie they showed there was Titanic – sacrilege. But I digress.  I just remember the bigness and the fantasy of it all. Great memory.

Leave a Reply

