What to do about Haiti

The world has had our chin grabbed and been forced to look in the direction of Haiti as we have watched in horror and disbelief as the devastation in the wake of the earthquake that has destroyed the already fragile island nation. The blogosphere has been lit up with eloquent postings, prayers and other sentiments on the issue and I’m glad it’s getting so much attention and help. I’m a doer. An action person. I want some sort of thing to do to help, so I’ve been brainstorming.

My company is matching donations (in any amount – normally it’s a minimum of $25) to Mercy Corps from now through February 28th and within my store we’re doing some things to raise money around a Valentine’s Day theme called “Sending Our Love to Haiti.” We’re selling little trinkets, perhaps a bake sale, auctioning off meals with management, etc.

On a personal note, I’d like to see if there’s something I could do with my own talents related to VDay so I had the idea of selling serenades. I can’t do much, but I can sing, so I thought, Hey, you donate $10 and I’ll serenade someone over the phone, $25 and I’ll do it in person. What do you think? And I know there are some singers out there as well. Who’s in?

Leave a Reply

