Friday Five: Dreams

Sophia writes:

With the beginning of my college teaching semester I have been having some unusually intense and memorable dreams lately–especially related to my Women and Religion class. With the beginning of a new calendar year many of us are engaging with dreams of another kind: planning, brainstorming, setting intentions or resolutions, etc. And many churches will celebrate the baptism of Jesus this Sunday, reading the Gospel account of his vision of the Holy Spirit as a dove and the “beloved child” words of Godde that set him off on his mission sharing Godde’s dream for the world. So let’s take a few minutes on this (where I am at least) lovely snow-blanketed Friday morning and share about the many different dreams and visions in our lives.

Personal note: Before I start this, let me just say, odd that this week’s Friday Five would be about dreams since I’ve had such frustrating ones yesterday. I started a new job in Nov. and I am continually having dreams about my former job, particularly about my former boss. Apparently I was traumatized by that situation more than I thought. To be fair, I’m sure he could say the same about me. In any case, can a person get retroactive workers’ comp for that? 🙂

1. Do you tend to daydream?

Very much so. I have very vivid daydreams – what if dreams, vindication dreams, rectifying past relationship dreams, you name it. I’m very creative.


2. Do you usually remember your night dreams? Do you find them symbolic and meaningful or just quirky?

I do remember my night dreams and I have recurring ones as well. Some of them have meaning and some are bizarre. For years I had a recurring dream that my high school boyfriend would appear out of nowhere and decide that we were getting married. Plans were made, my mom was all into it, and I was horrified. I kept following him around and insisting that I didn’t want to get married and that after all these years he didn’t know who I was. In the dream, I follow him around and ask him if he even knows what my major in college was. I usually wake up before the wedding happens. Do with that what you will.

Lately, I’ve had dreams about my former job, as I mentioned above. Usually when I start a new job I have anxiety dreams about the new job. This time, it’s the other way around. Anxiety dreams about new jobs make sense, but anxiety dreams about former jobs are just annoying.

3. Have you ever had a life changing dream which you’ll never forget?

No.

4. Share a long term dream for one or more aspects of your life and work.

My long terms dreams for my life are always more travel. For work, it’s endless because it’s new and exciting. I hope to continue developing as a trainer and move up in my company to do corporate and regional stuff. The sky’s the limit with this one and it’s exciting.

5. Share a dream for 2010….How can we support you in prayer on both the short and long term dreams?

For this year I want to continue to improve in how I handle my finances so I can realize some of these travel dreams. Mom and I talk about trips but don’t take them and I’m tired of that. We’re doing one this year come hell or high water.

Leave a Reply

