Friday Five on Saturday: Autumnual Bliss

Singing Owl writes:
Let us fear the LORD our God, who gives autumn and spring rains in season, who assures us of the regular weeks of harvest. Jeremiah 5:23b
The Autumnal Equinox has just come ’round again. I took a look back at our Friday Fives and noted that it always seems to make the Rev Gals and their Pals think of changes.
There is something so nostalgic about this time of year, at least in the Northern Hemisphere. The nights grow cooler, crops are harvested, for some of us the leaves are beginning to change colors. The scent of smoke is in the air, pumpkins are in the stores (or on wagons, or in roadside stands for those of us in the country). I’m thinking of putting away my summer clothes and pulling out the sweaters. And I have a tub of Fall-themed items that my husband just lugged up from the basement. I’m looking for my scarecrow.
For this week, let’s share some memories along with some hopes and expectations.
1. Share a Fall memory.
I lived on the east coast for a couple of years and the autumn there is breathtaking. Generally, my great memories of Fall are about Thanksgiving. It’s my favorite holiday, mostly b/c of the food. I used to make big Thanksgiving dinners w/ friends in Seminary, just to have an excuse to cook it more than once a year. Those dinners were always so fun b/c we had to make do with very little space and small apartments and kitchens, but it was the most fun ever.
2. Your favorite Fall clothes–(past or present)?
My favorite Fall clothes are the new sweaters I usually get. I haven’t done much shopping yet this fall but I’ll get there.
3. Share a campfire story, song, experience…etc.
When I was in seminary we used to do bonfires at Ocean Beach periodically and that was always a good time. We’d huddle under blankets, make s’mores, and sang some worship music. Good times.
4. What is your favorite thing about this time of year?
Football, football and football. Also? Football. New TV season always makes me happy, too.
5. What changes are you anticipating in your life, your church, family…whatever…as the season changes and winter approaches?
I am anticipating changes, but I’m not sure what those changes are. That anticipation could come from my addiction to change, or because actual changes are on the horizon. I am still marinating on a change in my church involvement and there are always things happening at work so who knows? We’re doing some hiring and moving around of folks at work, some folks are returning from maternity leave, some are coming back, so things are always moving there. While change always seems to be happening at this point it’s all good.

Bonus: What food says “AUTUMN” at your house? Recipes always appreciated.

We make these Pumpkin Biscuits w/ Orange Honey Butter for breakfast on Thanksgiving day that we munch on while we prepare dinner. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

