Friday Five: All About the Jammies

Sophia writes:
As the weather cools off into a lovely fall, my son and daughter are rediscovering their joy in cozy footed “pajammies”–though not to sleep in. They love to hang out in the pjs before bed or in the morning, but when it’s time to actually sleep they strip to their skivvies! Good thing they finally have their own rooms, now that they are getting older.

Without going to TMI land, share with us your sleepwear memories and preferences….

1. What was your favorite sleeping attire as a child? And did you call them pjs, pajamas (to rhyme with llamas), pajamas (to sort of rhyme with bananas), jammies, or ???

I remember nightgowns as a young child, but later it was t-shirts and boxers. We actually called them “nighties” in our house, as in, “Go put on your nighty.” Today I refer to them as “jammies.”

2. Favorite sleepwear put on your own little ones, or perhaps those you babysat? (Bonus points if you made it).

I’m a fan of little night gowns for girls and short sets for boys. I also really like the babies in the one-piece footie situation, although they can be a beast to get on those little writhing bodies.

3. How about today-do you prefer nightgown, pajamas, undies, or au naturel?

I am all about the jammies. I worked for Victoria’s Secret all through college and I spent most of my earnings on jammies there. Now I have the good fortune to work for another company that has FABULOUS jammies, for a fabulous discount. I immediately throw on jammies when I get home from work. The rules are: they HAVE to match and I can only wear them once and I have to wash them. Not environmentally friendly, I know, but I’m sure there are folks out there who wear their jammies multiple consecutive nights (*shudder*) and they’re making up for me.
4. Silky smooth or flannel-y cozy?

Natural fibers only, particularly cotton knit or silk. Don’t do polyester and flannel is too hot.

5. Socks or bare feet?

Mostly bare feet, unless it’s super cold. Usually if I start out with socks, they’re gone by morning.
Bonus: Funny story regarding sleepwear (or the lack thereof).

When I was very young, my grandparents used to come visit us from Oklahoma in their travel trailer. They’d park it in our back yard and stay for like a month. My mom did not love this (it was dad’s parents), but as a 4 year old, it was great fun to have sleepovers with Granny in the back yard. One evening I put on my nighty and toddled out to the trailer. As Granny got ready for bed, she put on her nighty and said, “Ok, now, it’s time to take off our panties.” Apparently, Granny slept commando. I was horrified/mortified, and I said, “This is where I split,” and ran out the door and back to the house.  I don’t think she stopped laughing about that for at least a decade.

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: All About the Jammies

  1. I LOVE your story! I’m one of those who sleep multiple nights (sorry), but if it’s a rough night, only once. But I’ve also expanded my collection of jammies, so one time and then into the hamper works fine, too.

Leave a Reply

