Friday Five: Recharging

Sally writes:

A few weeks ago my lap-top battery died, suddenly I found myself looking at a blank screen and was rather relieved to find that it was only the battery and not the whole computer that had failed. This morning a new battery arrived in the post, and suddenly I am mobile again!

After a week with what feels like wall to wall meetings, and Synod looming on the horizon for tomorrow I find myself pondering my own need to recharge my batteries. This afternoon Tim and I are setting off to explore the countryside around our new home, I always find that walking in the fresh air away from phones and e-mails recharges me. But that is not the only thing that restores my soul, so do some people, books, pieces of music etc….

So I wonder what/ who gives you energy?

1. Is there a person who encourages and uplifts you, whose company you seek when you are feeling low?

Most of the time when I’m feeling anything either really high or really low I go straight to Mom. If Mom isn’t available I am fortunate to have several friends who help me with the recharging, particularly Momi, Kenny, Anni, Heather, Lisa, and Kyle.

2. How about a piece of music that either invigorates or relaxes you?

It totally depends on the type of low. Sometimes I need heavy metal, sometimes jazz, sometimes symphonic.

3. Which book of the Bible do you most readily turn to for refreshment and encouragement? Is there a particular story that brings you hope?

I typically go to the Psalms, 40, 42, 55, 57, 62, 78, 91, to name a few. For stories I go to the gospels, Jesus’ interactions with those who need healing, particularly the man who said, “I believe. Help my unbelief.”
4. A bracing walk or a cosy fireside?

Cozy fireside.

5. Are you feeling refreshed and restored at the moment or in need of recharging, write a prayer or a prayer request to finish this weeks Friday Five….

I am feeling refreshed and restored for the the moment. I will get some recharging time this weekend but I am storing it up b/c the next couple of weeks are going to be crazy.

God of infinite resources,
Your word tells us that You draw near to those who call on You in truth
I want to tell you the whole truth, but sometimes I don’t know what that is, but I desperately need You to draw near.
Please see through to the truth for which I have no words
Forgive me for fighting You for things that I don’t really want rather than taking what You give that I need
Restore my soul so that I can see the world through Your eyes
Amen

Leave a Reply

