Friday Five: Exercise

Sophia writes:

I just got back from an 8 mile bike ride down the beach boardwalk near our home, and was struck with the number of people out enjoying physical activity. Runners, other cyclists, surfers, swimmers, dogwalkers, little kids on scooters….

It’s easy to lose track of my physical self-care in the midst of flurried preparation for a final on-campus interview Monday for a college teaching position in the Midwest (prayers welcome!) and the family move that would accompany it. But each day that I do make time to walk or ride my bike it is such a stress reliever that it is well worth the time invested!

So how about you and your beautiful temple of the Holy Spirit?

1. What was your favorite sport or outdoor activity as a child?

I don’t do sports or outdoor activities. I was a sedentary child who started reading at 3 and never stopped. The only thing I did a lot as a kid was swim, and that’s because it was Phoenix, and that’s the only thing you could do.

2. P.E. class–heaven or the other place?

Absolute hell. Hated. It.

3. What is your favorite form of exercise now?

My favorite is yoga and pilates, but I have to do the other stuff too, so I do strength training and as little cardio as possible.

4. Do you like to work out solo or with a partner?

I can go either way. I do classes at the gym or work out alone, but when I work out alone I’m much less inclined to push myself.

5. Inside or outside?

I like to walk outside, but otherwise, I do my exercising inside.

Bonus: Post a poem, scripture passage, quotation, song, etc. regarding the body or exercise.

I suppose it would be inappropriate to posts Bootylicious?

Leave a Reply

