Friday Five: Vacation

Mary Beth at RevGals has vacation on the brain and I do too. I just took a mini-break about a month ago. This weekend I’m heading up to the Russian River area with friends. Later this summer I’m doing a trip up to the mountains of northern AZ with the family and hopefully I’ll get to Hawaii very soon. While the prepping for and returning from vacation thing is stressful, once you’re there, it’s fabulous. So, here goes:

1) What did your family do for vacations when you were a child? Or did you have stay-cations at home?

We did short vacations because my dad has always been self-employed and couldn’t go very far for very long. We did southern California A LOT, particularly San Diego, Long Beach and Pasadena. We did northern AZ a lot, too. Of course when we were unleashed to do longer trips we usually went to freaking Oklahoma to see family. Not a fan. We also did several trips to Red River, NM, for skiing in the winter and fishing in the summer. The best thing was that we had a motorhome, so we could go anywhere and have our amenities. This was the most awesome at Disneyland b/c you could go out to the RV, eat and nap, and then head back into the park.

2) Tell us about your favorite vacation ever:

My favorite vacation ever was the 3 days of fun tacked on to the back end of a mission trip in Kenya followed by a week in London with my mom. Kenya is indescribably beautiful and I got to spend some time in the Aberdares National Park at the Ark and at a bungalow resort with amazing buffets. I also got to go to Karen Blixen’s house and see Robert Redford’s ACTUAL PANTS. Then in London mom and I TORE IT UP. Well, for us. We spent money @ Lush, ate great food (b/c we didn’t eat English food), saw The Lion King and saw the Singalong Sound of Music. We also took a day and went to Bath. Great trip.

3) What do you do for a one-day or afternoon getaway…is there a place nearby that you escape to on a Saturday afternoon/other day off?

I have the great fortune of living in a destination, so if I have a day off to escape, I have the options of Napa, Bodega Bay, Sonoma, Santa Cruz, Inverness, or any number of beautiful locations. Jealous?

4) What’s your best recommendation for a full-on vacation near you…what would you suggest to someone coming to your area? (Near – may be defined any way you wish!)

Come to San Francisco – you can have an urban vacation, a beach vacation, a nature vacation, a shopping vacation, a theater vacation, a food & wine vacation, and an art vacation, separately or all in one. It’s pretty much the best place ever.

5) What’s your DREAM VACATION?

My DREAM VACATION is being taken by my boss in September and I hate him for it. He’s going to Italy for two weeks to cook, eat, drink and relax. HATE. HIM.

Bonus: Any particularly awful (edited to add: or hilarious) vacation stories that you just have to tell? (“We’ll laugh about this later…” maybe that time is now!)

I was coming home for spring break from college in Pennsylvania and I had this ridiculous flight that went from Philly to Newark to Pittsburgh to Phoenix. It was a Sunday and the South decided to have tornadoes all day and so my flights were all delayed and I ended up being stranded in Pittsburgh. I couldn’t get a hold of my parents b/c they were at a Suns’ game. I got a hotel to give me a room with the promise that my mom would call and pay for it and finally flew home the next day.

Leave a Reply

