Friday Five: Adoramus Te

Adoramus te, Christe,
et benedicimus tibi,
quia per sanctam crucem tuam
redemisti mundum.
Qui passus es pro nobis,
Domine, miserere nobis.

We adore you, O Christ,
and we bless you,
because by your holy cross
you have redeemed the world.
O Lord, who suffered for us,
have mercy on us.

1. How will you pray and worship today?

A good friend preached at her church today at noon-to-one tennebrae service. It was the first time a woman had ever preached there and she knocked it out of the park. Tonight MBCC has a Taize service that I’m helping with. My personal focus today is on the necessity of embracing suffering, mine and the suffering of others, for the purpose of transformation and to make the “Easter” moments more meaningful.

2. Share a powerful memory or memories of Good Friday past.
I dragged my mom to an Episcopal church where they were doing a performance on St. Matthew’s Passion from noon to three. She LOVED it and went to it today. Unfortunately, it’s the last year they’re doing it, but it was really beautiful.

3. How have you grown and experienced God’s love during this past Lent?
This Lent I have learned to keep walking. I’ve had situations from which I wanted to retreat but I have stuck with them (mainly because I had no other choice) and learned about the beauty of the other side.

4. In whom do you see the face of the suffering Christ most clearly?
Any time I see children in pain or crisis. The depth of my compassion for children is in direct proportion to my lack of patience with adults (working on it). I want to rescue them all and take care of them in a huge house with lots of warmth, food and love. I know. I’m a total cheeseball, but there it is.

5. Where do you find hope for resurrection?

In the church, gathered and scattered. It’s a screwed up institution, for sure, but it also contains great hope. I’ve seen such a change in the last few years as those of us who really want the church to be the church are stepping up and saying that the right wing wackos do not speak for us and God wants us to make a difference in the world and not argue about stupid things like carpet color and parking lots. I see the church choosing to spend money on ministry instead of buildings. It encourages me to keep going and makes me feel like big things are ahead.

The following video is of the men’s acappella group from Goshen College. Big ups to my Mennonite brothers – well done!

One thought on “Friday Five: Adoramus Te

Leave a Reply

