Friday Five – Time Out Edition

Sally writes:
Holy Week is almost upon us, I suspect that ordained or not, other revgal/pals calendars look a bit like mine, FULL, FULL, FULL……..

Jesus was great at teaching us to take time out, even in that last week, right up to Maundy Thursday he withdrew, John’s gospel tells us he hid! He hid not because he was afraid, but because he knew that he needed physical, mental and spiritual strength to get through…

So faced with a busy week:

1. What restores you physically?
Sleep. Lots of sleep. I also really love yoga – restorative yoga if I’m looking for, well, restoration. A good massage and/or facial doesn’t hurt either. Have I mentioned that I’m a little high maintenance? I’m totally ok with that.

2. What strengthens you emotionally/ mentally?
Stimulating conversation, a walk in Golden Gate Park, a good book, a thought-provoking film.

3. What encourages you spiritually?
Music, art, the ocean, community

4. Share a favourite poem or piece of music from the coming week.

At the Foot of the Cross by Kathryn Scott

At the foot of the cross where grace and suffering meet
You have given your life through the death you bore for me
And you’ve won my heart, yes you’ve won my heart
Now I can trade these ashes in for beauty
And wear forgiveness like a crown
Coming to kiss the feet of mercy
I lay every burden down at the foot of the cross

5.There may be many services for you to attend/ lead over the next week, which one are you most looking forward to and why? If there aren’t do you have a favourite day in Holy week if so which one is it?
I’m helping to lead all of our Holy Week services, but my favorite is Good Friday. I like that we force ourselves to focus on the suffering because we rarely do that. I’m not a masochist, but I think it’s important for us to see God’s presence in times of inexplicable grief and then to see the resurrection that comes later. In the suffering we experience in our own lives, it’s hard to see any resurrection on the horizon and when it comes, it’s rarely in the form we expect. I love this annual reminder of that.

One thought on “Friday Five – Time Out Edition

Leave a Reply

